• December 15, 2012

    Winter Commencement

    IU President Michael A. McRobbie presided over the IU Bloomington Winter Commencement ceremony. More than 2,000 undergraduate and graduate students who completed their degrees during September and October are eligible to participate in the ceremony. The commencement speaker is Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels, who is retiring after two terms in January.

  • December 12, 2012

    Forum: IU delegation's trip to South America

    In early November, Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie led an eight-day trip to South America where he visited with the leaders of several top universities and launched new alumni chapters. He was accompanied on the trip by Vice President for International Affairs David Zaret. One of the successful outcomes of the trip came with the signing of an agreement between IU and the Brazilian Academy of Letters, a distinguished literary society and the foremost institution in the world devoted to the Portuguese language. The agreement will result in increased opportunities for IU students to study abroad and for collaborative research possibilities for faculty in one of the world’s fastest growing emerging economies.

    On Wednesday, December 12th, Vice President Zaret lead a forum that outlined the activities and the outcomes of the trip to South America.

  • October 26, 2012

    Four IU Graduates are Honored with The Distinguished Alumni Service Award

    IU President Michael A. McRobbie presented four Indiana University graduates—including IU's first African-American trustee, a legendary sports broadcaster, a leader in philanthropy, and a respected journalism executive—with IU's Distinguished Alumni Service Award, the university's highest award given only to an alumna or alumnus. Nancy Hamblin, national chair of the IU Alumni Association, presided at the presentation ceremony at the Henke Hall of Champions in Bloomington. The Distinguished Alumni Service Award recipients were chosen for service and achievement in their fields of endeavor and significant contributions to community, state or nation. With the addition of these recipients, IU has honored 314 alumni since the award's inception in 1953.

  • October 19, 2012

    IU formally names the Robert H. McKinney School of Law

    IU President Michael A. McRobbie presided over the ceremony that marked the official naming of the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law in recognition and honor of Indianapolis attorney, banker, and civic leader, Robert H. McKinney. In December 2011, McKinney made the largest gift ever received by the school and one of the largest in legal education. His gift of $24 million, along with matching funds committed through the IUPUI IMPACT fundraising campaign, brings the total value of the gift to $31.5 million.

  • October 15, 2012

    Indiana University celebrates the lives of Vincent and Elinor Ostrom

    The Indiana University community came together to celebrate the lives of Vincent and Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University faculty members who were world renowned for their original and influential research on resource management and democratic governance. Elinor Ostrom, Distinguished Professor and Arthur F. Bentley Professor of Political Science and the only woman to receive the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, died June 12. Vincent Ostrom, Arthur F. Bentley Professor Emeritus of Political Science, died June 29.