McRobbie stands in front of flags featuring school names.


Michael A. McRobbie became Indiana University’s 18th president on July 1, 2007. He oversees IU’s eight campuses, which include more than 5,000 faculty members, 11,000 staff members, and 100,000 students!

President McRobbie’s vision for IU affirms the university’s fundamental mission of excellence in research and teaching. The agenda he set forth in his inaugural address includes:

  • Establishment of the Herman B Wells Presidential Professorship
  • Recruitment of Nobel laureates, Pulitzer Prize winners, and elected members of the National Academies and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences to IU’s faculty
  • Raising a multi-million dollar endowment for overseas study scholarships
  • Adding nearly $500 million in new facilities at the Indianapolis and Bloomington campuses
  • Renovation of all residence halls on the Bloomington campus
  • Increasing graduation rates at all campuses through the “Degrees of Excellence” initiative
  • Upgrading the University Theatre to become the first IU facility devoted to film to support traditional and modern film studies
  • Improving Hoosier health
  • Building IU’s international relationships
  • Recruiting and retaining minority students

Learn more about President McRobbie »

Follow the progress of his initiatives throughout the entire state of Indiana »